Jill Scott says she’s no “natural hair spokeswoman”

Jilly from Philly has captured our hearts and minds for some time now.

Whether she was taking us on a long walk, or singing about her love for Lyzel in E-Flat, Ms. Scott has never disappointed us.

Until she decided to relax her hair.

A lot of women identified with the soul singer. They looked at her curvaceous body, full lips, and natural hair and they saw themselves. So after the soul gave birth to her son, Jet, she decided to cut her hair and relax it.

She debuted her new do at the VH1’s Black Girl’s Rock ceremony while performing on stage with Kelly Price, Ledisi and Marsha Ambrosius, and despite her spectacular performance people couldn’t get away from her hair.

In a recent interview with Afrobella, Jill talks about her decision to get a relaxer.

Afrobella: …to so many people, they look at your and they brand you as an icon that speaks to their particular experience. So to so many women, you’re considered a natural hair icon, or plus size icon and now you’re in a period in your life where you’re changing. How is that, and how do you feel about being seen that way by women and how do you feel about your hair and your beauty and your evolution that we’re all getting to see right now?

Jill Scott: Well I think that change is good, and its necessary. Typically when I go through something, I’ll always cut my hair off. And I’ll wear wigs, and I’ll wear weaves and I’ll wear pieces because I like fashion. I like style and its fun to me. I’m very much a girl and I don’t know. I wont say worried…I’m interested to see how people look at me as someone who’s lost 60 [lbs] and working on 20 more. I’m interested to see if they’ll still feel connected to me or not. I don’t know. I wasn’t trying to be the spokesperson of natural hair. I just like my hair. I like how it feels, I like how I look. I enjoy my culture and my heritage. I see my mother and my father in my hair and I enjoy that. But at the same time I’ve been natural for 20 years and it was time to change. And when I get bored of this, I’ll cut my hair off again.

Click here to check out the full interview Ms. Scott did with Afrobella where she explains why she switched it up and how she’s not the natural hair ambassador.

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    We’ll miss Jill Scott’s natural hair the way we missed Alicia’s braids and take it as part of their evolution as women and artists.

  2. 2

    Dwana said,

    Jill has never disappointed me…not even when she straightened her hair. I think she’s still doing a great job representing us. All she did was change her hair…which doesn’t make or break her spirit. Kuddos to her!

  3. 3

    cdonalds22 said,

    I love her hair natural. The relaxed thing just doesn’t have that much character and umph. No matter how she wears her hair, she’s gorgeous and will always be one of my natural hair inspirations.

    • 4

      Funkystarkitty50 said,

      I love her music. I think that what she does with her hair is her personal choice and nothing more. I will support her music anyway, because that is what I’m more interested in.

    • 5

      Rissa said,

      I agree with cdonalds22. Additionally, I will say that I was extremely surprised to see her hair not in its natural state. I was a bit hurt at first… almost like how I felt when my son got his first hair cut.

      I believe that because we, as women from african-decent, have experienced a myriad of voyages relating to the relationships we build on our individualism, strength, confidence and self-esteem, that we were ALL (relaxed, natural, textlaxed) proud of the woman that we saw in Jill Scott. A BEAUTIFUL, GRACED, STRONG AND SELF-CONFIDENT AFRICAN-AMERICAN WOMAN! That said, when she relaxed we were shocked; however, we quickly realized that she is still that same beautiful woman who we can be proud of. We understand that she knows herself well enough to value everything that the Creator has composed her of.
      ~Bless

  4. 6

    HelloBeauty said,

    Jill is doing Jill! I love that she does what works for her, and does not let the color of her skin define how she wears her hair. If you like your hair natural, rock it natural. Straight, rock it straight. If you want a weave, get a weave! There is no law that says Black women have to be natural. Do you!

    • 7

      christina sanders said,

      I love your comment Hellobeauty. Jill Scott is truly beautiful inside and out. Her hair does define who she is. Her spirit, her talent is what ‘s more important. People are always going to judge us and ridicule us for something that they may not appeal to. We as a people have a right to change what we look like because change is good. There is nothing wrong with trying something new. She did what makes her happy. Yes, it sparks controversy, but Jill is grown and is still doing her thing. Would you be against her if she had blonde hair, or no hair at all. Our hair does not make us who we are. Kepp going strong Ms. Scott. I love you.

  5. 8

    Allison said,

    You go Jill. Love the response. Love the change. Love the dynamic women u are. There is nothing wrong with change. It helps us to grow everyday. Inspired by you and can’t wait to see the different looks.

    Alliso

  6. 9

    Tebogo said,

    I’m disapointed. I dont even kno y but I gues I had hope on women like jill keeping ‘sistahood’ alive. Wen lauren came down, everithing went with her. Remember Andia Aree’s first single? Even she became the average chick in the video. Now jills comfirms the extinct breed that is ‘the sistas’. Jill is obviously not obliged. But I feel betrayed by the 90’s surge of sistahood. It was a craze, hype n we bought it. Sad. The Scoreboard: Average chicks 10, Sistas -1.

    • 10

      christina sanders said,

      Jill Scott is still a sistah, like it or not. Exactly, what are you disappointed in? Because she has a relaxer? Does her having a relaxer diminish her talent? Does it make her less accomplished? Many women are so afraid of wearing their hair in it’s natural state, that they wear hair weaves for that straight hair effect, wearing what they wished they could grow out naturally. wanting to have hair of different cultures because they were taught that their own hair is not good enough. Being teased for not looking like their white counter parts. Black women are damn beautiful nomatter how they wear their hair. Relaxed, natural, whatever. Black women will always be powerful beings, not because of their hair but because God created us that way. Sistah’s are not extinct. How dare you even utter those words. Sistah’s are stronger than ever. I admire people like jill scott because of their courage and strength, their ability to love who they are, not because of their hair. Kudos to you ms. scott.

  7. 11

    Ms. Molly said,

    You go Jill Scott I feel the same way I like changing my hair , It’s good to be free and do what you like as long as we’er not hurting anyone, I think other sisters should be free, people will try to keep us bound by what they beleive, sisters free yourselfs

    • 12

      christina sanders said,

      Good golly Mrs. Molly. That’s right, let them know. Our hair is just an ornament that dresses our heads like silver bells dress a christmas tree. Our hair does not define us. As long as it is neat and well kept. Best of luck to m,s. scott.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment