Natural Chic of the Week: Nikki G’s Little “Princess”

“Princess” might be our youngest Natural Chic of the Week, but it doesn’t mean we can’t admire her beautiful hair. For her entire life (a whopping four years!), her mother Nikki has cared for her thick, black curly tresses, but not without a few bumps in the road. As a mom, not knowing how to properly manage her daughter’s mane, left Nikki often times feeling clueless and ill informed. But she did some research, read some books, and has watched her daughter’s hair flourish and grow. But Princess’s locks haven’t been the only thing to become stronger. Nikki said hair time is quality time for her and her daughter and their bond strengthens after each shampoo and condition. Hair care can be expensive and sometimes a very arduous task, but Nikki and Princess have shown it can also create an atmosphere for love and fun.

How long have you been natural?

My daughter, (we’ll call her “princess”) has been natural her entire life, four years.

What are your five favorite products?

Herbal Essence Hello Hydration Conditioner, Giovanni Direct Leave-in, Unrefined Shea Butter mixed with Virgin Coconut Oil, Blended Cutie Down & Out Styles, and I am currently loving Bee Mine Products.

What are your favorite natural websites/books?

Of course I love the Thank God I’m Natural Blog, I also love: CurlyNikki, BlackGirlLongHair, & NewlyNatural, just to name a few.

What is your hair routine/regime?

Princess’ routine is pretty basic. We’re still experimenting with products but we always seem go back to some of her staple products.

*Shampoo scalp with a sulfate free shampoo once a week

*Condition hair usually with Herbal Essence Hello Hydration conditioner after shampooing, Detangle while hair is loaded up with conditioner. First I finger detangle, then I use a wide tooth comb, and sometimes use our Denman D3 brush afterwards.

*Rinse conditioner out and apply Giovanni Direct Leave-in in about 6 sections, then apply our shea butter/coconut oil mix on top of that and either braid/twist/band her hair for the night in about 6 sections.

*Style hair the hair the next day. I usually rotate between: protective styles, out and natural/braid out/twist outs, or styles with beads and barrettes. I don’t like to leave beads/barrettes/rubber bands in her hair for too long. When I do use rubber bands I make sure I soak them in olive oil or melted coconut oil first and I make sure where ever I am applying the rubber band (base, ends) is well moisturized.

*My current favorite for defining her curls is Blended Cutie Down & Out Styles

What are your favorite hair styles?

We really love when her hair is out and natural, or when her hair is in sister twists or box braids.

Have you had any bad/interesting experiences being natural in a professional setting/modeling?

An interesting experience was when we went to her Family Fun Day at school. I let her wear her hair out and natural for the first time to school, she quickly entered her classroom and I heard one of the assistant teachers say “GIRLLLL, What happened to your hair?!” then I walked in so it was a little awkward.

Have you had any bad/interesting experiences dating and being natural?/What do the boys/men say about your hair?

Princess obviously doesn’t date. The only man in her life is her father, and he adores her and her hair.

What do your friends and family think about your natural hair?

Everyone really seems to love her hair and styles. My sister disappointed me when she told me she “prefers the wet look” on Princess. I actually wrote a post about that and a poem inspired by that comment.

Do you have any celebrities who provide you with natural inspiration?

I wouldn’t say there’s a particular celebrity but Princess notices every natural person or child on TV or in magazines. She immediately says “Mama look! Like me!”. She also loves seeing all of the children who participate on our blog.

What do you do for fun/hobbies (e.g. talk about modeling)?

She loves to sing, dance, color, normal kid stuff!

Favorite places to shop?

Both mother & daughter love to shop. Our favorite places to buy Princess’ clothes are Gymboree, Old Navy, TJ Maxx, Marshall’s, Burlington Coat Factory, etc.

What was one of the most valuable lessons you have either witnessed or learned from love?

I have witnessed that hair can really form a tight bond between mother and child. I have also learned that it can place a big gap between mother and child. Care for your child’s hair as you would want someone to care for your hair. Be gentle and be patient and watch your bond grow!

For more about Nikki or Princess’ hair care routine, check out their blog at www.beadsbraidsbeyond.blogspot.com.

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Stephany said,

    Loved this article! Especially love that A appreciates all of the kiddies who “participate” in the beads, braids & beyond contests!

  2. 2

    Drea said,

    Love this little girl! Her hair is gorgeous and her mother is doing an excellent job caring for it.

  3. 3

    Angelicque said,

    What a beautiful head of hair

  4. 4

    Carlotta said,

    I totally agree with the bond that can be formed during hair time. What a wonderful interview!

    Thanks

  5. 5

    shumpy said,

    Love Nikki’s blog so I had to come over and show some love…she’s doing a great job with her daughter’s hair

  6. 6

    honeysmoke said,

    Great interview. Yes, folks will say all kinds of things when parents aren’t around. Not surprised.

  7. 7

    Z said,

    Love what Nikki does with her daughter’s hair. Wish that my mom had had the blogs and books to give her the knowledge she needed to care for my biracal curls growing up. (I had a constant fluff on my hai from always having my hair brushed).

  8. 8

    Litasha said,

    “A” always has the cutest hairstyles. Nikki has done a wonderful job caring for her beautiful curls

  9. 9

    Sugar said,

    This was such a nice interview. I am in love with princess’s hair 🙂

  10. 10

    Nikki said,

    Thank you all so much! I appreciate it!

    Nikki


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment