Natural Chics of the Week: Nangamso Phakathi and Matlhodi Mashamba

Here in the states, we’ve seen natural hair come and go. We can’t pin-point when embracing your natural texture became the cool thing to do, but we here at Thank God I’m Natural believe being natural is more than a trend, it’s a lifestyle.


But to see that lifestyle echoed in far regions of the world like South Africa is even more amazing. Take two friends Nangamso and Matlhodi for example. They decided to go natural for the same reasons many women in America do. They’ve experienced the same trials and tribulations women transitioning do and yet they came out victorious, like many women here trying to get a handle on their hair as well.

As different as their hair textures are, it’s comforting to know they were happier with their God given textures and even proud of it. Nangamso and Matlhodi, both happily married career women, decided chemicals just weren’t good enough and the best way to be them was to go natural.

Sweet!

Longitude and Latitude

Nangamso: Pretoria, South Africa

Matlhodi: Johannesburg, South Africa

What keeps the bills paid?

Nangamso: I work as an editorial coordinator at an academic book-publishing house.

Matlhodi: I’m a support desk operator in an IT company.

What advice would you give to those going from relaxed to natural hair?

Nangamso: Patience, patience, patience! Sometimes it can get frustrating when you’re transitioning and your hair is in two textures, but all you need to do is find creative styles to wear until your natural hair grows out long enough to do the big chop.

Matlhodi: Patience is the key. It might be a long trial-and-error process to find the products that work for you, and you will be tempted to straighten it again, but just hang in there for a while. If freestanding hair is not for you, loc it. Remember what works for me might not work for you.

Ok. Dish on some of your products you heart to death.

Nangamso: Coconut oil, Organic Root Stimulator’s Olive Oil Replenishing Pak and Hair Mayonnaise, Sof ‘n free Gro Healthy Thick & Healthy Olive Cream.

Matlhodi: For me it’s still trial and error. It’s hard to find good products for natural hair here in South Africa. But I just discovered the JO ‘M hair care range for natural hair and I’d say although it still early so far so good. Their hair moisturizer seems to be getting along well with my hair.

Any favorite books you like to read about natural hair?

Nangamso: Definitely Thank God I’m Natural! I haven’t come across any other natural hair books here in South Africa.

Matlhodi: Thank God I’m Natural is actually the first book I’ve read that’s fully dedicated to naturals. All the other books and magazines are for the straight haired and weaved women.

What is your hair routine/regime?

Nangamso: I basically shampoo only once a week and do co-washes in between (about twice a week). I deep condition my hair every weekend.

Matlhodi: Only wash it once a week (or twice if it feels dirty). I co-wash with Organics conditioner for dry hair, deep condition with either ORS replenishing deep conditioner or my Cross n Blackwell mayonnaise from the kitchen. Moisturizing is still a struggle as oils don’t work well with my hair but this Jo ‘M moisturizer seems to be doing the trick

What are your favorite hairstyles?

Nangamso: Twists and twist outs. I also like doing afro puffs.

Matlhodi: I usually rock a twist-out or a wash and go.

How do the higher ups dig your do?

Nangamso: I haven’t had any problems at work. Actually, so far I’ve received a few good compliments on my hair from my colleagues since I went natural.

Matlhodi: I get compliments from some of them every now and then. Especially, when I’ve had it blow-dried into a big fro.

How do the dudes take to your hair?

Nangamso: Well, I’m not sure about the other dudes, but my husband definitely loves it!

Matlhodi: My hubby loves me natural, but he’s becoming quiet annoyed with this constant twisting at night. Honestly, me too! He suggests I lock it and I might do just that. We both know my locks used to turn heads. Why not give it another go and keep the peace going?

How does your family feel about your natural hair?

Nangamso: My family is very supportive and they also like the way the natural hair looks on me. My sister liked it so much that she also recently did the big chop.

Matlhodi: My mom looks at me like I’m a lost and hungry child. My older sister just laughs in my face when I’m having bad hair days. My little sister is excited I’m ”going back to dreadlocks” when she sees my twists.

Who is your hair muse?

Nangamso: Jill Scott and Lira (a local musician)

Matlhodi: Definitely Miss Lauryn Hill

What do you do for fun?

Nangamso: Going out to movies and the theatre, blogging, reading, and spending time with my little boy.

Matlhodi: I’m what you’d refer to as the boring type. I’m pretty much content staying home and spending time with my little family.

Where are your favorite places to shop?

Nangamso: Woolworths, Identity and Truworths, or any place where I can find some nice and cheap hair accessories.

Matlhodi: I’m not really a shop-a-holic but I love clothes & shoes from Foschini, Rage and Woolworths. I love bargains and I usually wait for sales.

What are you listening to on your iPod?

Nangamso:

I don’t have one, but right now I’m in love with Beyonce’s “Sweet Dreams” and Jay-Z featuring Alicia Keys “Empire State of Mind”

Matlhodi: If I had one, I’d be listening to D.J. David Guetta & Estelle’s “One love.”

For more about Nangamso and Matlhodi, check out their blog at http://frochic.wordpress.com/

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    […] Check us out on Thank God I’m Natural blog. […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment